Prince’s Park lies at the centre of Irlam and offers a wide variety of recreational opportunities for people of all ages to enjoy.
The park was donated to the town by the late George Thomas and contains a unique remnant of the original course of the River Irwell which is now an important habitat for a range of local wildlife.
The entrance to the park was the site of the original Lodge gates leading to Irlam Hall which was demolished in 1952 and is accessed from Liverpool Road.
Within the park is a garden of remembrance, bowling green, tennis courts, skate park, garden centre, football pitches, zip wire and outdoor gym. It is also home to Irlam and Cadishead Leisure Centre which offers a range of sporting facilities including swimming pool and gym, as well as Lady James’ Hall, a facility used by local community groups.
During the year the park hosts a number of events including the Irlam and Cadishead Community Festival with entertainment, stalls, a funfair and fireworks during August and a council-run fireworks display on bonfire night.
Adjacent to the park is the George Thomas Recreation Ground with play equipment for children of all ages to enjoy.